These are a few of my favorite things

I am feeling a bit overwhelmed by entering into the actual writing stage of my independent study recently.  That combined with the rest of the work that has piled up for the end of my semester has made it difficult for me to come up with a good, thought-provoking blog post for this week.  Therefore, I have decided to simply make a list of fat positive things in this world that I like.

  • Hairspray (2007).  My favorite movie.  I’m a huge musical junkie in general, so a musical about a fat girl?  I am so there.  It does kind of bother me, though, that Tracy is so cheerful with childlike optimism.  It seems a bit patronizing to me, but I love her anyway.   I’m not going to lie, it began my infatuation with Zac Efron (even though I had already been a High School Musical fan)

.

  • Adele.  I honestly did not know that she was not skinny until recently.  But I loved her music before and kind of love her more now.  I’ve noticed, though, that many pictures of her are so touched up, or taken from strategic angles to minimize her size.  Like this music video for SUCH a good song, they never really show her body except when she’s putting on a sweater.

  • The trampoline scene from Away We Go.   (Refer to my previous post)
  • The Vicar of Dibley.  It is an old family favorite show starring Dawn French.  Absolutely hilarious.

  • Mika- “Big Girl, You are Beautiful!”
  • Lane Bryant Right Fit Jeans.  I know that Lane Bryant is old news, but their products are really well-made and the jeans work to fit multiple body types.  I wear jeans all the time and they often get worn out and rip in the spot where my thighs rub together (i call it chub rub rip).  But Lane Bryant jeans are the most durable for me.

What are some fat positive things that you love in this world?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lindsay B on November 18, 2009 at 7:51 am

    Just a note, but the Right Fits aren’t Lane Bryant’s- they belong to Charming Shoppes. So Fashion Bug and Catherines also both have them.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Erin on November 18, 2009 at 11:07 am

    perosnally i love fashion bug..what? fatties arent relegated to a small corner of tunics?!?! i love the fact that they have every item of clothing in sizes 2-3 and its all on the same shelf……as i was wandering around in a happy daze the lady working there said “we got another one…welcome to the happy fat chick store :D”

    Reply

  3. Posted by Juliet on November 18, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    Has anyone been to an Avenue lately? They have the cutest jeans out there that I’ve seen in curvy girl sizes.. Totally different from what they used to have.. My mother always shopped there, so I wasnt really interested… but I saw her email the other day and had to go down and check them out… Seriously.. I had no idea they had gotten so cute! and the prices were totally reasonable.. Cheap and cute? Gotta love it..

    Reply

  4. Posted by sleepydumpling on November 22, 2009 at 7:43 am

    I have just done a version of this myself on Fat Heffalump (http://fatheffalump.wordpress.com)

    Capitol idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

