Some news during my week of finals…

I apologize to those who are waiting to receive a copy of my thesis from me.  I have been swamped with end of year/ end of college wrap up stuff and there are still a few minor edits I want to make before I give it to people to read.  I am not ignoring your requests =)

I’m really only writing this post because I have absolutely no motivation to work on my finals.  And to let you all know some very exciting news I received today!  My school has a prize (which they call the Turner Prize in honor of a past professor at the college) for the “most distinguished Senior Thesis relating to women and women’s concerns.”  And today I received a letter telling me that my thesis has won the prize this year!!  That news has absolutely made my day and it is such an honor.  It is especially exciting because I feel like it is not only a win for me, but also for fat acceptance (as much of a win that it can be at a school as small as mine).  Here’s an excerpt from the letter I received from the prize committee:

Our decision to honor your Senior Thesis, “Re-Heading the Headless Fatty: A Look at Fat Positive Feminism in Blogs,” was based on our appreciation of the following:  the quality of your writing and the command of the language, the seriousness with which you analyzed your subject matter, the breadth of your research, your willingness to extend academic research into areas outside our typical purview, and your ability to successfully weave your theoretical tools throughout the discussion.  Your research enriched our understanding of the complex realities of self-identity, body weight, the blogosphere, and feminism’s importance to Fat Positive movements.  Please accept our warmest congratulations on your outstanding scholarship, and thank you for the opportunity to read your thesis.

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!! I’m so HAPPY!!  Although I am still waiting to officially hear my grade on the thesis, but this is such wonderful news.  And I think it shows validation of fat acceptance in academic scholarship (at least on a small, unpublished  scale).

Thank you, Fat-O-Sphere, for giving me the voices to use in this project!  Congratulations to us all =)

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jackie on May 4, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    Congrats Ali! That’s great!

    Reply

  2. Posted by erin on May 5, 2010 at 8:44 am

    awesome good for you!

    Reply

  3. That is fantastic! Well done you!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Heather on May 11, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    She hasn’t posted this yet, but she received Honors! Well deserved, Ali!!!

    Reply

  5. Thanks everyone! (And thank you Heather for being a great advisor!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

